Canada Awards for Innovation & Entrepreneurship (CANIEs)

The Canada Innovation & Entrepreneurship Awards— the CANIE Awards—is the Innovators & Entrepreneurs Foundation's flagship program recognizing excellence in Canadian innovation and entrepreneurship throughout every province and territory across the country.

Value: The CANIE Awards is your opportunity to win $10,000 in cash as well as have your business promoted locally, regionally and nationally. Alternatively, if you know a business owner who is deserving of this recognition, we encourage you to nominate them to benefit from this injection of capital and the promotion of their business.

Eligibility: You can apply for yourself and your company or alternatively, you can nominate a person and their company (with or without their knowledge). Applicants must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, demonstrate that they are an active innovator or entrepreneur with a registered business that has been in operation for a minimum of 1 year, and meet the award selection criteria.

Note: The 2022 application process will happen in 2 phases. The first 4 categories opened for application/nomination on March 28, 2022 and will close on the midnight on the 31st of May 2022. The second group of categories will be opened for applications/nominations in June and close in August. Details around the second phase will follow shortly.

This Year’s Competition  – The 2022 CANIE Awards

Phase I:

▶ Seniorpreneur Award for Leadership & Innovation (Presented by Arthur J E Child Foundation) – Awarded to a business owner who is 55+ and using their experience to succeed in their mission while contributing to their community

▶ Global Impact Business Owner of the Year (Presented by UPS) – Awarded to organizations that have demonstrated outstanding achievement and social impact while scaling international markets.

▶ The 2022 Entrepreneur of the Year (Presented by Ownr) – For exceptional leadership and ongoing impact in Canadian entrepreneurship.

▶ Climate-Related Product Innovation Award  (Presented by UPS) – Awarded for products creating innovative solutions to a real-world problem.

Agency website:

Upcoming Deadlines

May 31, 2023May 31, 2023 *
16:00:00 16:00:00 America/Vancouver Application Deadline: Canada Awards for Innovation & Entrepreneurship (CANIEs) Recognizes excellence in Canadian innovation and entrepreneurship, while educating present and future generations of disruptors. .
* NOTE: This deadline is an estimate based on previous years, but a confirmed deadline has not yet been published. We will update the deadline when it has been confirmed.