Inaugural Robbins-Ollivier Award for Excellence in Equity

To all institutions participating in the Canada Research Chairs Program:

We are pleased to invite all eligible institutions that participate in the Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP) to submit nominations to the inaugural Robbins-Ollivier Award for Excellence in Equity. 

Awarded through the tri-agency Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP), the award recognizes the significant and impactful contributions that Marjorie Griffin Cohen, Louise Forsyth, Glenis Joyce, Audrey Kobayashi, Shree Mulay, Susan Prentice, Michèle Ollivier and Wendy Robbins have made to increase the level of equity in the CRCP and Canada’s research ecosystem more broadly, by way of their 2003 Canadian Human Rights complaints and their concerted efforts in the mediation processes, which led to both the 2006 Settlement Agreement and its addendum in 2019. The award recognizes the contributions of the entire group, while being named after the late Michèle Ollivier and Wendy Robbins, who passed away in 2010 and 2017, respectively, prior to the signing of the 2019 Addendum.

For additional information on the award including its objectives, the award value, eligibility and how to apply, please see the following link:

Robbins-Ollivier Award for Excellence in Equity (

The external deadline to submit nominations is July 29, 2022, 8:00 pm (eastern). The internal deadline and process will be announced shortly.


The program will host webinars on the following dates to answer questions:


Time (EST)

Zoom Link

March 15, 2022 (French)

1 p.m.- 2 p.m.


Meeting ID: 935 7648 9254

Passcode: 029020

March 16, 2022 (English)

1 p.m.- 2 p.m.


Meeting ID: 981 8457 1400

Passcode: 484778


Troubleshooting/Additional Questions?

Please send an email to